“This Fathers’ day”

As fathers’ day approaches, I recall a quote from one of my fave authors- Max Lucado in his book “On the Anvil”

“Today, I will make a difference.

I will spend time with those I love – my spouse, my children, my family.

A man can own nothing and yet be wealthy in relationships.

Today, I will spend at least five minutes with the significant people in my world.

Five quality minutes of talking or hugging or thanking or listening.

Five minutes with my mate, children and friends.

Today I will make a difference”

These words got me thinking about about how often we take things for granted, even our relationships. When was the last time you called or visited your D. A. D. D. Y? When was the last time you told him those 3 magic words, no 4- “daddy i love you”? When was the last hug, the last gift?

I’m calling out to you out there! That son, that daughter, a father’s child!

Make this commitment as we celebrate Fathers this weekend. At least 5 mins of your time (they deserve even more), make that call, send him a gift, hold his hand (yes i mean just that), say those 4 magic words(even if it seems it will kill you) and mean it -Daddy I love you!

Don’t wait till they are gone from us!

Special dedication to Sam-my husband and father of my two children  as well as their two wonderful grandfathers!

Happy Fathers’ Day!

 

Leave a Reply

