Quiet

5minute friday is here again and i just love been here! the prompt is ‘quiet’! come join us and write for 5mins no editing and all that. i exceeded 5 minutes though!

I recall the not too fond memory of the time when my home got quiet. Often stressed out (full time working mum of 2 little girls – 1 preschooler, 1 toddler), I found myself wishing I could get away from home for a short while. I finally got what I wished for … but not exactly the way I wanted it. For some reasons which I still cannot fathom, my daughters had to stay far far away from me (or so it seemed) with their grandma for almost a whole month. I went to work grudgingly each day, feeling a great part of me missing (no diapers, no scattered toys, no shrieking laughter, no squealing, no “my mummy this, my mummy that”, no nothing) and returned home, to my embarrassment, feeling empty and to an empty home. The quiet was deafening! How can I be quiet with so many thoughts about them screaming in my head for attention?
He leads me beside still waters….When I gave up my sticky situation to God, I got my girls back! I realized more than ever that these ones and darling husband, they make my home. Without them, I am incomplete. Blessed is the man (and of course woman) that has his quiver full of them!

7 thoughts on “Quiet

  1. atshaibu November 13, 2012 / 1:10 PM

    Thanks to you all! It was great reading your posts too!

  2. susanwalkergirl November 10, 2012 / 7:26 PM

    Beautifully written. Thank you for sharing what you learned and how the Lord worked in your situation. May you find peace in Christ no matter what is going on around you.

  3. Joy November 10, 2012 / 6:19 PM

    Very nice post!

  4. mslorretty November 9, 2012 / 6:32 PM

    Praise God for the way He’s worked here in you. Beautiful post! Here from FMF….glad I clicked on YOU!

  5. Leah November 9, 2012 / 5:07 PM

    So very true!
    The universal truth that you don’t appreciate what you have until its gone.
    The noise of children is what makes a home happy and full of life.
    Cheers

  6. oliveshootinstitute November 9, 2012 / 5:06 PM

    Praise God for His refreshment and perspective! I am the mama of three sons who are probably older than your girls but I know how often I longed for peace and quiet. Some days when it’s quiet, I love it, other times, it makes me sad and mournful. Thanks for sharing and making me think. Stopped by from FMF, isn’t it the best! Bless you!

Leave a Reply

